Tag Archives: suspense

New Release & Review – Kill Game : An Urban Fantasy Thriller by SM Reine @smreine

Book & Author Details:
Kill Game: (Dana Macintyre Must Die) (Volume 2) by SM Reine
Published by: Red Iris Books
Publication date: July 19th 2017
Genres: Paranormal, Supernatural, Suspense

kill game.jpgSomeone’s importing illegal metals into Las Vegas. Iron, to be specific: the only substance that can instantly kill one of the deadly sidhe. But there are no sidhe in Las Vegas. Not anymore. Dana McIntyre killed the last of them two weeks earlier.

Importing the iron seems to be a matter of life and death, though. Mostly death. People are being slaughtered over these imports, and Dana can’t figure out why. It’s a puzzle that must be solved quickly and quietly. If the Office of Preternatural Affairs realizes how destabilized Las Vegas has become, they’ll shut down vampire hunters like Dana.

She has no choice but to partner with Nissa Royal, the right hand of the city’s master vampire, to hunt down the iron’s buyer. Nissa’s interested in a lot more than a functional partnership from Dana, though. She won’t settle for anything less than Dana’s soul…

review

There is, I think, a real sense of exuberance about this book – you can tell that the author is having a lot of fun with the story.

Once again, this is a plot that has twists, but is a good deal more direct, more straightforward in its telling.  Punchy and fast paced, you can’t help but be drawn into the drama and intrigue.

I’m really enjoying what is for me, a refreshing new story arc from the author.

That ending though…

I voluntarily reviewed an advanced reader copy of this book.

b+

5e2ae-7b92e-210f2-add-to-goodreads-button3

purchase links

Amazon Universal

iTunes | Nook | Google Play | Kobo

About the author

smreineHi everyone! My name is Sara, and I write urban fantasy and paranormal novels as SM Reine. I collect swords, cat hair, and typewriters (which I do use for writing!). It’s a good day when those three things have nothing to do with each other.

If you would like to know the instant my next book is available, you should enlist in my Army of Evil! We have a wicked cool secret handshake, but you’ll have to sign up to learn it. 😉 Check it out — Army of Evil

author links

Website • Facebook • Twitter • Goodreads

New Release & Review – Firefly (Redemption #2) by Molly McAdams @MollySMcAdams @eternal_books

Book & Author Details:

Firefly by Molly McAdams
Publication date: 18th July 2017
Genres: Contemporary Romance

FireflyThe next captivating installment in New York Times bestselling author Molly McAdams’s Redemption series.

As the Princess of the Irish-American Mob, there’s no shortage of men ready to help guard and protect me. To slowly suffocate me to the point of seeking freedom—a place where I can breathe.

Kieran Hayes has been saving me for as long as I can remember. It’s in his blood, and one of the many reasons I fell in love with him. Until my favorite trait became his biggest flaw, making me resent the man I love. An unwavering warrior, his love for me has been shrouded by those instincts.

Save Lily. Protect Lily. Hide Lily. Cage Lily.

What I wasn’t prepared for was Dare—the man who would set my world on fire with just one touch. He saw straight through to my soul, as though he knew I was desperate for freedom, and silently demanded my heart from the beginning.

And I didn’t expect Dare to be Demitri Borello—the reason for so many deaths in my family. A man who will take my life the moment he finds out who I am.

Despite it all, I’ll love him until that moment comes.

A fire will die if there is no oxygen for it to consume. Ours is rapidly stealing every last breath we can sacrifice to it.

review

I am not usually a fan of love triangles – at all.  And yet, this book? It’s one big long sigh of reading delight.

There is so much to love about the story – the strength of the plot, the complexity of the characters, the chemistry of their interactions, the depth of the emotional connection with the reader.  I’m genuinely struggling to find something to list as a counterpoint to my fangirling.

In short, this book was wonderful.

I voluntarily reviewed an advanced reader copy of this book.

a-

5e2ae-7b92e-210f2-add-to-goodreads-button3

purchase links

Amazon (Universal Link)

About the author

Molly grew up in California but now lives in the oh-so-amazing state of Texas with her husband, daughter, and fur babies. When she’s not diving into the world of her characters, some of her hobbies include hiking, snowboarding, traveling, and long walks on the beach … which roughly translates to being a homebody with her hubby and dishing out movie quotes. She has a weakness for crude-humored movies and fried pickles, and loves curling up in a fluffy comforter during a thunderstorm … or under one in a bathtub if there are tornados. That way she can pretend they aren’t really happening.

author links

Website | Facebook | Twitter

Review & #giveaway – Rum Runner by Tricia Leedom @tricialeedom @xpressotours

RumRunnerTourBanner-1

Book details:

Rum Runner by Tricia Leedom
(The Key West Escape, #1)
Published by: Ink Monster LLC
Publication date: July 18th 2017
Genres: Adult, Adventure, Romance

 

Rum Runner_FINAL_RGBSynopsis:

Perfect for fans of Susan Elizabeth Phillips and Janet Evanovich, this action-packed debut from a fresh voice in contemporary romance offers a sexy and comedic take on love, adventure, and what it means to trust your heart.

English socialite Sophie Davies-Stone has been longing to meet her father since she was a little girl. When he sends her a mysterious medallion and asks her to forward it to him in Miami, she can’t help herself from doing something totally un-Sophie-like. Rather than mailing it as instructed, Sophie hops on a flight to Florida.

But the family reunion never happens. Instead, Sophie is attacked and almost kidnapped by her father’s enemies. Her savior is Jimmy Panama, a cocky and annoyingly handsome former Navy SEAL. Sophie isn’t the only one who’s annoyed. After years of trying to find a way to pay back his CO, Jimmy never thought his debt would get him mixed up with his commander’s uptight, British daughter. He just wants to put her on the next flight home and get back to his low-stress life in Key West, but fate has other plans.

As Sophie and Jimmy embark on a heart-pounding adventure through Key West and the Caribbean, Sophie finds herself falling for the snarky American. Still, her head says Jimmy is all wrong for her, and the more she finds out about him – and her father – the more uncertain she is about who she can trust.

One thing is clear. Sophie is in way over her head, and her greatest adventure might be her last.

The Key West Escape Series
1. Rum Runner – Releases July 18, 2017!
2. Bahama Mama – Coming January 2018!

review

This was such a fun book to read.

The characters were colourful and three dimensional, and I particularly liked that the author didn’t shy away from the less likeable traits of both of the lead characters. Sophie IS spoilt; Jimmy IS a rogue, but neither are written in such a way as to make them caricatures of those elements.

The narrative flows organically and the pacing pushes the story along without any lag.  The plot line isn’t too shabby either, and when taken all together, this is a glorious bit of escapism.

Perfect summer reading material!

I voluntarily reviewed an advanced reader copy of this book.

b+

5e2ae-7b92e-210f2-add-to-goodreads-button3

Pre Order Links

Amazon (Universal Link) | iBooks |Kobo | B&N

Google Play

About the author

TRICIA LEEDOM enjoys traveling to exotic destinations and having torrid love affairs with hot, dangerous men… even if it’s only in her own mind. When she’s not writing romantic adventure novels, she reads voraciously, tweets compulsively, and fangirls over a TV show based on her favorite book series.

Tricia earned her BA in Creative Writing from The University of Tampa and her MFA in Writing Popular Fiction from Seton Hill University. Her favorite authors include Diana Gabaldon, J.R. Ward, Susan Elizabeth Phillips, Karen Robards, and Johanna Lindsey. She lives in Southwest Florida with two very spoiled dogs.

purchase links

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

giveaway

Enter the giveaway HERE (US/CAN only)