Category Archives: Promo Posts

Review – The Silver Bullet (Solis Invicti #4) by Josie Jaffrey @josiejaffrey

Book & Author Details:

The Silver Bullet by Josie Jaffrey
(Solis Invicti, #4)
Publication date: August 5th 2017
Genres: Dystopian, Paranormal Romance, Young Adult

Silver Bullet“To think of death as a thing of beauty: that’s a threshold you can’t cross twice.”

The truth is out, and Emmy is faced with a choice she dreads: surrender her mortality, or allow her frailty to threaten the nascent society the Silver are building. With exile the only reasonable alternative, she struggles with feelings she can’t define and a duty she’s reluctant to accept.

While the Silver city hangs in the balance, Emmy must remake herself to redeem it and save her friends. Her reinvention forces her to choose sides, threaten alliances and risk becoming like those she fears: inhuman.

The Silver Bullet is the final book in Josie Jaffrey’s Solis Invicti paranormal romance quadrilogy, set in a dystopian, post-apocalyptic London where a deadly infection threatens to wipe out humanity. The only people who can stem its advance are the Silver, a vampiric race who offer a simple exchange: protection in return for blood and subservience.

review

At the risk of repeating myself, I need to preface this review by advising you that this is not a standalone novel.  You absolutely need to have read the first three book in the series before starting this one.

OK.  The review.

I think that this is a series which is an undiscovered gem.  I really do.  I have devoured each installment greedily, and this, the final book in the quadrilogy, was no different.

I confess that I was intrigued to see how Emmy was going to survive.  The solution was well executed, and launches the reader directly into the action from the opening page.

As befits the concluding chapter, this is the best in the series.  Emmy’s vacillations were fewer and the drama once again cranked up. The ever present threat from the weepers is, in some ways, background noise for much of this story, as the narrative steers the reader towards the conclusion through a gamut of experiences.  And it seems that help can be found in the unlikeliest of places.

Reading this series has been a real treat.  I’m so pleased that the climax played out in the way it did.  It didn’t feel like a cop out and if I’m honest, I’m a little sad that there is no more to come.

Just entrancing.

 

I voluntarily reviewed an advanced reader copy of this book.

a3

5e2ae-7b92e-210f2-add-to-goodreads-button3

purchase links

Amazon (Universal Link)

available

Amazon Universal Links

Book 1 | Book 2Book 3

About the author

I have always written stories, but it wasn’t until I started the first book in the Solis Invicti series in 2014 that I really became obsessed with writing. I love to read, particularly where the escapism of the story is enhanced with an element of fantasy or science fiction. For me, writing is simply an extension of that journey, but I get to decide what happens next (though it’s amazing how often the characters seem to decide for themselves what I’m going to write!).

As a new author, I love to hear from readers with their comments and feedback on the books, so please do get in touch through my website or via Twitter.

Thank you for reading!

author links

WebsiteFacebookTwitter

Review & #giveaway – Rum Runner by Tricia Leedom @tricialeedom @xpressotours

RumRunnerTourBanner-1

Book details:

Rum Runner by Tricia Leedom
(The Key West Escape, #1)
Published by: Ink Monster LLC
Publication date: July 18th 2017
Genres: Adult, Adventure, Romance

 

Rum Runner_FINAL_RGBSynopsis:

Perfect for fans of Susan Elizabeth Phillips and Janet Evanovich, this action-packed debut from a fresh voice in contemporary romance offers a sexy and comedic take on love, adventure, and what it means to trust your heart.

English socialite Sophie Davies-Stone has been longing to meet her father since she was a little girl. When he sends her a mysterious medallion and asks her to forward it to him in Miami, she can’t help herself from doing something totally un-Sophie-like. Rather than mailing it as instructed, Sophie hops on a flight to Florida.

But the family reunion never happens. Instead, Sophie is attacked and almost kidnapped by her father’s enemies. Her savior is Jimmy Panama, a cocky and annoyingly handsome former Navy SEAL. Sophie isn’t the only one who’s annoyed. After years of trying to find a way to pay back his CO, Jimmy never thought his debt would get him mixed up with his commander’s uptight, British daughter. He just wants to put her on the next flight home and get back to his low-stress life in Key West, but fate has other plans.

As Sophie and Jimmy embark on a heart-pounding adventure through Key West and the Caribbean, Sophie finds herself falling for the snarky American. Still, her head says Jimmy is all wrong for her, and the more she finds out about him – and her father – the more uncertain she is about who she can trust.

One thing is clear. Sophie is in way over her head, and her greatest adventure might be her last.

The Key West Escape Series
1. Rum Runner – Releases July 18, 2017!
2. Bahama Mama – Coming January 2018!

review

This was such a fun book to read.

The characters were colourful and three dimensional, and I particularly liked that the author didn’t shy away from the less likeable traits of both of the lead characters. Sophie IS spoilt; Jimmy IS a rogue, but neither are written in such a way as to make them caricatures of those elements.

The narrative flows organically and the pacing pushes the story along without any lag.  The plot line isn’t too shabby either, and when taken all together, this is a glorious bit of escapism.

Perfect summer reading material!

I voluntarily reviewed an advanced reader copy of this book.

b+

5e2ae-7b92e-210f2-add-to-goodreads-button3

Pre Order Links

Amazon (Universal Link) | iBooks |Kobo | B&N

Google Play

About the author

TRICIA LEEDOM enjoys traveling to exotic destinations and having torrid love affairs with hot, dangerous men… even if it’s only in her own mind. When she’s not writing romantic adventure novels, she reads voraciously, tweets compulsively, and fangirls over a TV show based on her favorite book series.

Tricia earned her BA in Creative Writing from The University of Tampa and her MFA in Writing Popular Fiction from Seton Hill University. Her favorite authors include Diana Gabaldon, J.R. Ward, Susan Elizabeth Phillips, Karen Robards, and Johanna Lindsey. She lives in Southwest Florida with two very spoiled dogs.

purchase links

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

giveaway

Enter the giveaway HERE (US/CAN only)

 

 

Blitz & #giveaway – Corruption of the Heart by Jessca Manson @AuthorJesManson @xpressotours

CorruptionOfTheHeartTourBanner.png

Book details:

Corruption of the Heart
by Jessica Manson
Publication date: January 3rd 2017
Genres: New Adult, Paranormal, Romance

CotH.jpgSynopsis:

Lilith Carson was a normal girl whose parents died suddenly. She moves to a different state with her aunt, and she cuts herself off from everyone. Until one day, when her crush appears beside her in the library. From there, they fall in love, fast and hard.

Lilith finds out that when she turns eighteen, she will transform into a Vampire-Witch hybrid. When a vampire conceives a female, that female already has a mate chosen for her. When Lilith was conceived, there was a mistake. Her world is turned upside down when she must choose between two guys she barely knows.

Lilith has chosen the guy of her dreams and has settled into a life that she thinks is perfect. But nothing is ever as it seems. She will soon face the ultimate betrayal by someone she loves deeply.

5e2ae-7b92e-210f2-add-to-goodreads-button3

excerpt

There was just something about him that makes my insides flip around. He makes me smile finally. I haven’t smiled in a very long time. And he makes me feel safe when I am with him. He makes me feel things I have never felt before.

I could lose myself in his eyes and not even realize the time lost. They were so big and beautiful. The glowing bright green color was magical, mythical even. The slightest touch of his hand sent the most powerful surge of electricity through my body. He made me want him in ways I have never wanted anyone before. He makes my breath catch and causes my knees to go weak with just a look or a simple touch.

I laid there thinking of the things I wanted to do to him until he was standing in front of me. Odin walked over to the bed and pulled me up to stand in front of him. He aggressively pulled my shirt off revealing my black and red lace bra once more. He unbuttoned my pants letting them fall to my feet. He pulled his shirt off letting me gaze at his ripped chest and a gasp of excitement slipped from me when my eyes landed on the particular spot where those v things were.

Stepping out of my jeans I ran my fingers across his chest feeling his toned muscles until I reached his back. I couldn’t help myself and dug my nails into the flesh of his back just enough to show him the hunger I had for him. His breath quickened and he threw me back onto the bed. I opened my legs up to him as he climbed on top of me. I invited him to get closer to me than anyone else ever has. Heat radiated from the both of us and traces of tingles lingered in the places on my body that he touched.

His chest was firm and smooth and ripped in all the right places. I traced my fingers down each one of his abs until the landed on the rim of his jeans. I grabbed them and pulled on them bringing him closer to me. I wanted him. I needed him. My hunger only grew until I just about couldn’t stand it anymore.

He ran his fingers across the bottom of my stomach causing a small tickle and a giggle left my throat. He pulled away and stared at me for a moment before saying, “You are more beautiful than I could have ever imagined, lamia mea.”

purchase links

 Amazon (universal link) | B&N | Kobo

About the author

 

Jessica started writing when she was 10 years old. She started out writing poetry which has been published in several Poetry Society books as well as on the Internet. She won the Publisher’s Choice Award for her poem A Lost Soul. She has always had an addiction to reading which is what lead her to become an author. Her debut book is Corruption of the Heart.

author links

Goodreads | Twitter | Website

giveaway

Enter the giveaway HERE