Review – The Birth of Death (Evorath #1) by Joseph Macolino @evorath

Book & Author Details:

The Birth of Death (Evorath #1) by Joseph Macolino
Publication date: June 20th 2016
Genres: Young Adult, Romance

The Birth of Death.jpgArtimus, the head investigator for the elvish kingdom of Erathal, is disturbed when he discovers that the culprit behind a recent string of kidnappings presents the greatest threat the world of Evorath has ever seen. As he develops feelings for Savannah, a beautiful elvish druid hiding a great secret, he struggles to separate his personal feelings from his responsibilities to the crown. Meanwhile, Irontail, a young centaur warrior, endeavors to find his way in a tribe where independent thought is discouraged.

When their paths cross, the entire forest must unite, performing an ancient ritual to combat this new evil. While the world of Evorath deals with this great threat, Artimus and his companions must put their internal conflicts to rest as they work together to combat this harbinger of death. As they work towards this common goal, they find that they each have their own, unique gifts to offer. But, will they be strong enough to survive?

The first of many stories taking place in the world of Evorath, this series gives readers the thrill of an epic fantasy while introducing characters who are struggling to balance the demands of society with their own personal desires. One thing is for sure: at the end of it all, nothing will be the same.

review

 

If you have read any of my reviews for this book genre, you will know that I am very picky about my High Fantasy.  But, it was billed as recommended for fans of LOTR and GOT so I thought that I would give it a go.  Sadly, it did not live up to the billing.

I can overlook borrowing of ideas from other authors (mythril; adamantium) as I expect that the intended effect was to try and solidify the authenticity of the world which the author was trying to create.  However, for me, it was a step too far when one of the characters spoke with Yoda-style speech syntax.

Even leaving that aside, I’m afraid that the story didn’t draw me in at all.  The flow of the story was a little jerky and I didn’t particularly like the characters.  Unfortunately, taking all that into account, this was a book which was shelved without being finished.

I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book.

DNF

5e2ae-7b92e-210f2-add-to-goodreads-button3

purchase links

Amazon (universal link)

About the author

Contemporary Scribe of Epic High Fantasy

In the tradition of JRR Tolkien and GRR Martin, Joseph Macolino is a builder of worlds. While other works may be derivative of their worlds few can create at the level of these revered masters. Following the path of his mentors, Macolino constructs epic high fantasy tales of extreme depth and extraordinary richness. As a famous hobbit once said, “If you don’t keep your feet, there’s no knowing where you might be swept off to.”

When he is not pouring his heart, soul, blood, sweat, and tears into writing good fantasy books, Joseph spends time studying the politics and economics of Earth, and also enjoys studying philosophy from nearly every school of thought; if it has anything to do with social philosophy, he wants to know about it. Through this learning, he admits that most philosophy books are relatively dry in their presentation, but hopes to convey these concepts in a way that people can enjoy and relate to. He looks to accomplish this by providing good epic fantasy books for years to come.

Ultimately, Joseph Macolino built Evorath to be his ultimate fantasy book getaway and wants his readers to enjoy the same luxury.

author links

Facebook | Goodreads | Website | Twitter

Advertisements

One comment

  1. Thank you for your honest input. Though some might prefer to be shielded from negative reviews, I find them as an opportunity to really examine my work. In this case, many of the negatives are things I had pondered while writing and though they didn’t work for you, I am glad that my target audience has embraced them.

    As an author, it is always nice to see reviews from both sides. When I first had someone compare the book to LOTR, I will be completely honest in that I felt I fell short of Tolkien as an author. One day, I do hope to create at his level, but I still graciously accept that comparison. As for GoT, I have almost worked through my reading list to the point that I should be working through that series early next year. So, I can’t fully speak on that comparison. Though, in either case, I believe the comparison is more to the world and character building I do within my books.

    In regards to borrowing ideas, I think you’ll find that Evorath borrows ideas from a whole host of sources (what author doesn’t?). It builds around the history of earth to present a more detailed and realistic world. It has a plethora of species drawn from various mythologies. Overall, I spend a lot of time reading myths, legends, and even books on magic to create a detailed world. I do believe readers who appreciate the characters and settings will find that I make all of it my own though. Mythril and adamantium, for instance, will both be more important story elements once I move beyond the forest of Erathal and introduce the dwarves of Evorath (who, like the elves, are also “borrowed,” but I think readers will find my take on their culture to be unique). Note about research and “borrowed” materials: Marvel “borrowed” the idea of adamantium for earlier literary works just as many great fantasies have “borrowed” mythril from Tolkien.

    I do find it interesting that the syntax of the felite language bothered you but the satyr’s did not. Part of world-building, I looked at language on earth and realized that in many cases the “natural flow” we see in English is not so in other languages. Therefore, I felt it was a touch of realism to build a world where not everyone who spoke the common tongue spoke with the same syntax. Felite tend to be an isolated people and their language is complex. So, when they speak in the common tongue, they maintain their original syntax. I suppose it can be a bit strange to read, so I do realize that could be a potential negative.

    With all that said, I am always looking to improve the flow of my stories. I hope to one day reach the level of mastery of writers like Tolkien (though, even he has his critics too). Among the positive reviews complimenting my pacing and flow, it is great that there are still readers like you to remind me I can always improve. Perhaps having a LOTR/GOT comparison is not the best, but until I get another comparison that I am familiar with, it seems the one suited for use and my target audience seems to agree. My most recent critic review from BookLife stated that I displayed “Dashell Hammett’s hardboiled narrative style,” but alas, I have not read any Hammett, so I cannot speak to the accuracy of that one either. I am a reader first and an author second, so I certainly understand the difficulty when you see a review that claims a book is like another and then you disagree -it sets up expectations that affects your entire view of the work.

    Ultimately, I look at my stories as being more character-driven than anything else, so seeing as you didn’t like the characters, I definitely think shelving the book was a good idea. There is no sense spending time reading a book you don’t enjoy. Once again, thank you for taking the time to check it out and providing your honest opinion. As much as the positive reviews reassure me and help me move forward, these negative reviews help me remain humble and focus on improving my own abilities as I work on the next story in Evorath.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s